Facebook boasts 1.3 billion monthly active users. Yet many people still haven’t taken control of the information they post. If you are using your page to promote your business, you may have your posts open to the public. However, you may not want to share your college reunion photos or you vacation updates with everyone. You may decide to make those posts available to only a select group of people. Either way, you have are in the drivers seat when it comes to what you post.

Facebook makes it easy to select “who should see” each post and shares this:

You’ll find an audience selector tool most places you share status updates, photos and other things you post. Click the tool and select who you want to share something with.

The tool remembers the audience you shared with the last time you posted something and uses the same audience when you share again unless you change it. For example, if you choose Public for a post, your next post will also be Public unless you change the audience when you post. This one tool appears in multiple places, such as your privacy shortcuts and privacy settings. When you make a change to the audience selector tool in one place, the change updates the tool everywhere it appears.¬†Remember, when you post to another person’s Timeline, that person controls what audience can view the post. Additionally, anyone who gets tagged in a post may see it, along with their friends.

Still not sure how to control who sees your Facebook page? Worried about the apps you’ve assigned to your Facebook account? If so, you should do a Facebook Privacy Checkup. Here’s a video to walk you through the process.

You can also change who gets to see your posts as you are making them¬†on Facebook. Here’s a really quick video to show you how.

Want more tips? Be sure to subscribe to my YouTube channel here.